One Week After Honduras

One week after being in Honduras for a second time I have come to realize a few things that have very little to do with missions or Honduras ironically enough, so hopefully you will forgive my cryptic ramblings:Image

1. Life does not flash before your eyes when you die, but rather while you are still living.

I can barely remember my time there currently because to be honest I was distracted daily to no end.  Surely God was testing me to see if I would give Him everything even under intense emotional pressure. Genesis 22 comes to mind.  We faithfully did the work we were called to do during the 8 days in country, but I feel that we only broke the surface of true lasting relationships.  Because of that my confession is that I cannot bear personally to go on another 1 week trip.  I’d rather go for a longer stay next time is what I’m trying to say.  Don’t get me wrong though.  There is still a place and a reason for quality short term mission trips in the church life, but my personal calling is for long term and I am going to steer towards that as the next years of my life carry on.

2.  Do not arouse or awaken love until it so desires.
Enough said about that.  Especially dangerous on mission trips when you are far from home.

3. Shulammite is an incredible name(perhaps derived from Jerusalemite, or from Salem the word for peace in Hebrew), but few women live up to that standard of faithfulness in this day and age. Song of Songs 6:13

4. “Don’t waste your life” and “Every passing minute is another chance to turn it all around.”

We all have within our daily choices the ability to turn back to God in reverential fear, humble repentance, and courageously unabashed candor.  Don’t waste time wondering about what ifs and “coulda shoulda wouldas”.  Life is more than your personal satisfaction all of the time.

5. Lastly- “The sweet is never as sweet without the bitter” and “Es tan corto el amor y tan largo el olvido”

Most of us can admit that we know the exquisite pain of the bitter trials in this life, but what great hope we have that there will no longer be any pain or regret in heaven when all of our faculties are consumed by Jesus’ glorious wonders and power.

That’s the only thing that gets me through some days – the promise of reward on the other side of this life.

Yours truly,
Pilgrim

2 thoughts on “One Week After Honduras

Leave a Reply

